Self Assessment – Week 1 to 6

Below you will find my self assessment for weeks 1 – 6.

Assessment Categories

1. Topical posts
– involves 2 compulsory posts each week.
– additional posts

Have managed to complete this task 4 out of the 6 weeks, with the other two weeks coming through with one post for the week. This being said, I have made the decision to extend my posts and make them more at length than I might otherwise, allowing greater exploration and fleshing out of my ideas.

21/25

2. Community
– Comments on peers blogs, analysis, and interaction
– Interaction with peers, academics and an increase in followers will achieve the best mark.

Interaction has been minimal with peers. My analysis has remained on the course side of things and not in the analysis or discussion of what is going on with my peers. This being said, I have managed to increase followers and page views quite a lot since first starting.

17/25

3. Blog structure
– visually satisfying, easy to use, and organised well.
– show a sense of the blog’s community, and allow a follower to navigate with ease. Tags should be used.

I think this is where the blog is at its strongest. Despite a slight lack in communication with the community, I believe my posts adequately the community I am trading within.
The blog is also immensely satisfying visually. It’s clearly organised, bold and easy to use.
Tags also help separate the many influences and inspirations of my posts

25/25

4. Reflection
As apart from topical posts, reflection posts are not as regular. That being said, these posts are supposed to be critical incident type posts. Whereby, they outline a major change in understanding, and epiphany, that could also enlighten followers.

I believe my in depth posts, such as The Creation of An Online Identity and What is Collaboration? are perfect examples of this. They show a critical reflection of course content, and also exhibit my personal voice on the matter.

21/25

Overall:

84/100

Grading

HD:
Visually satisfying blog that can be easily navigated, regular, informing and creative posts implementing all types of media, regular critical reflection and influential interaction with the community.

D:
Great blog structure, easy to use, regular posts that implement variety of media types, regular critical reflection and regular interaction with the community.

C:
Good blog structure, regular posts that show some increase in knowledge, some critical reflection and a sporadic interaction with the community.

P:
Blog can be used with some difficulty, reflection is shallow and does not show critical thinking, posts are irregular yet do show some increase in knowledge, little interaction with community.

F:
Limited to no posts, no interaction with community, no critical reflection and clunky blog structure.

Leave a comment